Manfred Mohr || Transformation I

« This short 16mm film (around 1 1/2 minutes) is ‘Transition I’ (1972-1973). As an inauguration gift, I transformed a sketch of the new city hall into the coat of arms of my hometown Pforzheim.

During my one-man show at the Museum of Modern Art in Paris in 1971, I met the CEO of C.G.M (La Companie Generale de Micromatique), a data storage and preservation company, which specialized in micro films. He invited me to experiment on their brand new machine DATAGRAPHIX 4460 to make computer animations. I gladly accepted and during the next 4 years I made several short computer films. It was a very painful experience since the process was very slow and the turnover dragged out over many months.


For the film, each frame was drawn in high resolution with a light beam directly from the computer onto 16mm film to create the animations.

This short 16mm film (around 1 1/2 minutes) is ‘Transition I’ (1972-1973). As an inauguration gift, I transformed a sketch of the new city hall into the coat of arms of my hometown Pforzheim. Images from this film are published in the book: Pforzheim 1973 (see below). »

film,

Tagué , , , , , ,
